• 1015 Tyrone Rd. - Bldg. 600 Suite 620 Tyrone, Georgia 30290

    Potential Punishments for DUI

    Upon conviction of a DUI, there are immediate penalties which you will face. DUI convictions in the State of Georgia escalate with the number of offenses committed – with harsher penalties associated with an offender’s second and third convictions. In some circumstances you may even be charged as a felon and punished more harshly.

    Additionally, if a person is found to be operating a motor vehicle under the influence while a child under the age of 14 is on board, he/she may be charged with the separate charge of endangering a child while under the influence.

    First DUI Conviction
    If you are convicted of DUI and you have not had any prior DUI convictions within the past 10 years, you can face:

    • Jail sentence – from 24 hours up to one year;
    • Possible DUI program and clinical evaluation;
    • License suspension for up to one year;
    • A substantial driver’s license reinstatement fee;
    • Fine ranging from $300 to $1,000; and
    • Community Service of at least 40 hours

    If you are less than 21-years-old at the time of your arrest, you may also receive a one-year delay in obtaining a graduated license.

    Second DUI Conviction
    If you are convicted of a second DUI offense within 10 years, you will face:

    • Jail sentence – from 72 hours to one year;
    • License suspension for up to three (3) years along with a reinstatement fee;
    • Fine  ranging from $600 to $1,000;
    • Community Service of at least 30 days;
    • You will also be required to complete a mandatory clinical evaluation;
    • You will be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program; and
    • You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

    Third DUI Conviction
    If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, you will face:

    • Jail sentence – from 15 days to one year;
    • License suspension for up to five (5) years and a reinstatement fee;
    • Fine  ranging from $1,000 to $5,000;
    • Community Service of at least 30 days;
    • Publishing of your photo, name, and address in a local newspaper;
    •  You will also be required to complete a mandatory clinical evaluation;
    • You may also be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program; and
    • You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

    Fourth DUI Conviction
    If you are convicted of a fourth DUI offense within ten years, you will be convicted of a felony offense, including:

    • Jail sentence – from 1 year to 5 years;
    • License suspension for up to five (5) years and a reinstatement fee;
    • Fine  ranging from $1,000 to $5,000;
    • Community Service of at least 60 days;
    • Publishing of your photo, name, and address in a local newspaper;
    • You will also be required to complete a mandatory clinical evaluation;
    • You may also be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program; and
    • You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

    Whether this is your first offense, or you have had prior convictions, please contact us to discuss your options and the defense of your case. Our attorneys will respond to your call right away, so please, call 770-692-5020.